Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Miata "baby teeth" removal

Miata "baby teeth" removal

I'd like to remove the "baby teeth" tie down things from the grille of my '94 Miata. (They're kinda rusty and look like crap.) However, I'd like to run the car in E-stock (locally only, I have no plans to ever do Nationals), and I understand that doing this would be against the rules for that class.

Here's the thing, though: I'm still very new to auto-x and thus far pretty terrible at it, so I can't imagine that the few pounds of weight savings would help me at all. So here's my question to the rules gurus: is anybody going to have a problem with me running in E-stock with no "baby teeth" on my Miata?

Nate

"technically' it's not legal, but local you may not have any issues (check with the others in your class at an upcoming event), though keep in mind you could still be protest bait... You could always paint them and put them back on...
    John Mensch

2011 Driver of the Year.
    Proud recipient of the 2008 Paul Weidner "Spirit of the Sport" award.
    Founder of F.rugal R.acing E.nterprises. (FRE) "It's not F.R.E.E., but it's close....."

Quote section;
    Resentment: It's like taking poison and waiting for the other person to die...
    "If there is no plan, what can go wrong!" - Some Clown
    "I like to think of myself as thrifty, cheap sounds so.......cheap." - Same Clown
    To quote a wise man I once knew; "If you can't have a little fun what good are you?"

The generally accepted approach for such requests would be to talk with any affected competitors. In your case, that could include drivers in BS, CS, DS, ES and FS, as we currently have few ES drivers (or ANY Stock drivers not running in Street Tire Index, for that matter), and ES is invariably bumped to CS or BS.